What do you think of this - Lenovo Legion 5i Pro Gen 7 (16" Intel) ?

C. A. Hamman

Hi hoping you could advise on the likely performance of this system, the  Lenovo Legion 5i Pro Gen 7 (16" Intel) ?

The i7 version currently at € 1,839.99

I'm thinking of this as my replacement computer to my Asus ROG laptop (Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-9300H CPU @ 2.40GHz   2.40 GHz / 16GB / 1TB M.2 NVMe)  which has served me well, but finding lots of instrument VST's and Plugins starting to get the better of it. I'm a guitarist so low latency is important. I get very mixed results with track freezing and find I'm always going back and tweaking,

https://www.lenovo.com/ie/en/laptops/legion-laptops/legion-5-series/Legion-5i-Pro-Gen-7-16-inch-Intel/p/LEN101G0015?orgRef=https%253A%252F%252Fwww.google.com%252F

You thoughts on this laptop would be much appreciated.

On 6/4/2022 at 5:38 PM, bdickens said:

Get a desktop unless you really are going to be mobile. Desktops are so much better.

Having switched to a Scan 17" 3XS custom music production laptop five years ago as my primary DAW, I can't disagree with this advice.

The fan noise alone is reason for me to switch back to a desktop when the time comes to upgrade.

Andy

I agree with the others on a desktop.

But, if you must have a laptop consider a "gaming" laptop.  They are usually more robust and have additional cooling, the bane of a laptop.  

When I added a laptop for mobile/on site recording I chose a Dell Inspiron 15 Gaming 5577 model for the cooling.  I've had it powered on continuously for over 6 hours at times and no overheating or noisy fan problems.

Lads, thanks for the advice on the desktop. Thanks for those responses - I do appreciate that those of you that work with fixed desktops have a singular place to work.