Midi keyboard doesn't send a signal to a plugin interface (solution: plug in MIDI cables correctly)

Sheeeawn

Question

Hello,

This is my first time setting up a DAW.

I have a keyboard connected directly to my computer via MIDI to USB.

In the Preferences section I set my keyboard up like this:  

image.png.ca6e6478c955240707b46bbdbf114908.png

Then I added the electric piano plug-in. Clicking on the digital keys produced sound but nothing happened when I used my keyboard.

image.thumb.png.809f1b8cd10d9ece9098062e61924506.png

Any help would be appreciated.

Edited by Sheeeawn

7 hours ago, tecknot said:

Hi Sheeeawn and welcome to the Cakewalk forums,

It seems that you have to set the input of the electric piano track to your MIDI keyboard.

Kind regards,

tecknot

Hi tecknot,

How can this be done? I can't find the option to edit the track's input.

34 minutes ago, Sheeeawn said:

How can this be done? I can't find the option to edit the track's input.

Select the SI-piano track, then Press “ i ” to open the inspector.  In the inspector, down the bottom, you need to set the input of that track to your midi-keyboard (Under “In/Out”)

Edited by Promidi

I can only assume you carefully followed the instructions in the tutorials. If you did then it should be working. 
The steps to select your keyboard controller as input are clearly explained in both videos 

I'm curious about the title shown in preferences as "midi-keyboard"  Normally the brand name is displayed. 

This is why you need to follow my instruction in the video as I'm not sure you have the proper driver installed. 

Edited by John Vere

13 hours ago, John Vere said:

I'm curious about the title shown in preferences as "midi-keyboard"  Normally the brand name is displayed. 

Right. That would seem to indicate that there is no specific driver for the keyboard or MIDI-to-USB cable.
Sheeeawn, what is the make and model of the keyboard? Does it have a USB port or are you using a MIDI-to-USB adapter cable?