"... no audio devices for the current driver model...

RHAJR

Question

I'm sure this has been asked and answered a hundred times, but I don't find it and thought I'd just make it 101.

When I launch Cakewalk, I get the following message: 

There are no audio devices for the current driver model on your system. Please go to Edit | Playback and Recording and choose a different driver model. 

Once Cakewalk has launched, I get this: 

The following tracks and buses are currently assigned to a silent hardware output.  The items listed below will be silent in your project until their outputs are reassigned to an appropriate hardware output.

Other than pointing me towards how to resolve the above, this is something that might be related...

Where to I assign the output through which a bus is played?

I'm sure it's obvious, but I truly am an absolute beginner at all things Midi and Cakewalk. I'm using an Alesis V49 that is hooked up to my PC. The drivers for it are current.

The most common reason for this message is that either you've forgotten to switch on your audio interface, or your USB settings has caused it to go to sleep.

Typically, what is going on here:

• You've got your driver mode set to ASIO
  • You start Cakewalk without your audio interface plugged in
  • Cakewalk tries to find an ASIO device, but can't find one - so you get the message

If you intended to start Cakewalk without your audio interface plugged in ( i.e. you're using a laptop and you just want to use the onboard audio device ), just go into Audio -> Playback and Recording within preferences, and set the driver mode to WASAPI Shared.

Just remember to set it back to ASIO when you do have your audio device plugged in.

13 minutes ago, msmcleod said:

The most common reason for this message is that either you've forgotten to switch on your audio interface, or your USB settings has caused it to go to sleep.

Typically, what is going on here:

• You've got your driver mode set to ASIO