Comping Multi Track Drums

Nich0las

Question

I am editing drum tracks for a project.

I do not record them in Cakewalk, they are delivered to me via WAV files in folders, i.e. Take 1 has 12 tracks in it, Take 2 has 12 tracks in it and Take 3 has 12 tracks in it. 

I dropped all three Takes into Bandlab. I know how to do that. Easy. 

Then, I grouped each individual take via the Selection Group Function. 

Now, once all three Takes have been individually grouped, how do I comp them versus one another to create one singular drum take?

There does not seem to be a way to drop them into Take Lanes.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.  

Edited by Nicholas Villani

3 answers to this question

I'm no expert at comping but thought I might be able to assist given no one else has responded. 

What I would do I use the browser to load the first take into 12 drum tracks. Then I'd add two additional take lanes for each track. Then I'd load the tracks one at a time into the correct take lane. 

There's probably better ways but I think this one will work. To load each take with the Now time at Home, I think you can select the track and the intended take lane and double click the intended clip. 

4 hours ago, Bill Phillips said:

I'm no expert at comping but thought I might be able to assist given no one else has responded. 

What I would do I use the browser to load the first take into 12 drum tracks. Then I'd add two additional take lanes for each track. Then I'd load the tracks one at a time into the correct take lane. 

There's probably better ways but I think this one will work. To load each take with the Now time at Home, I think you can select the track and the intended take lane and double click the intended clip. 

+1

23 hours ago, Nich0las said:

There does not seem to be a way to drop them into Take Lanes.

There is.