Cannot hear any virtual instrument played on Cakewalk

Sumana

Hello everyone,

I have just installed my first ever DAW  Cakewalk. I have no audio gear like audio interface or MiDi Controller etc. since I am just getting started. 

The problem I am facing is: When I pick any virtual instrument like SI - Drumkit or Bass, I cannot hear any sound while playing the instrument. But strangely, I can hear keyboard sound though and that is the only sound I can hear. How to resolve this issue? How do I start hearing the drums and other instruments that I play on Cakewalk?

The input and output drivers are my computer mic and speaker. 

I have also just downloaded and installed Cakewalk, and have the same problem. I went through every page of previous posts about this issue and watched every video and tried every setting, but I still am not getting any sound.  As a total beginner I find it frustrating that tutorials for "beginners" start off assume we beginners know stuff we clearly don't know.

Anyway, the only time I get sound is when I direct the output to "Microsoft GS Wavetable Synth", and clearly that's not coming from the soft synth.

Hi both, what happens if you drag an audio file such as a  .wav file into Cakewalk and press play. Do you get a sound out of the speakers then?

if so, then it means your output assignment is OK.  With virtual instruments there is a bit more to understand but I would be surprised if you can't learn from the tutorials available. Mike from Creative Sauce has just released one on SI drums which I think is easy to understand. Not having a midi controller keyboard makes things a bit difficult but using the piano roll view you can still get sounds out of these VI's

Edited by Hatstand

OK, audio works.

Next try opening (File > Open) a MIDI file without any output device enabled in preferences.

This will create a project with the MIDI file and TTS-1 setup ready to play.