How to colaborate?

Nelson André

Hello there,

I'm fairly new to Cakewalk, and I (think I) know the basics to recording audio tracks.

I'm trying to figure out what's the best workflow to collaborate with a friend also using Cakewalk, so we can make some music separately while Covid lasts (and beyond).

What should be the better way to send my parts to him and then he adds his parts and sends it back to me?

I have a folder with :

• Cakewalk Project File
  • Audio folder with 2 WAV files (my 2 audio tracks)

Should I just send him the whole folder?

Thanks.

Nelson

Hi Nelson and welcome to the Cakewalk forums.

I use DropBox for sharing Cakewalk project and audio files.  If your files are small enough, I guess you can send them, but I have not tried sending by e-mail (on account of the file size).  However, I suggest sending the files as separate attachments if you can. 

Kind regards,

tecknot

Yes as he said best to use a cloud storage that you share. See which one allows larger files. I use One Drive to share between my computers at home. 

What's cool about a shared folder is the version stays updated as you both add parts. 

One way to conserve file size is to take finished audio tracks and bounce them to a single track, Then use SAVE AS to make a new file. 

When I once did an online collaboration I converted the bass part to midi using Melodyne. Then I sub mixed the vocal and guitar to one track. Midi is real small. 

When he sent the project back he had added piano and organ which were midi.  I then just opened the original full project and dropped his parts into it.  You can do the same with audio. Just have a working copy and keep the full version in a different folder.