Cakewalk Hanging on "Creating UI..."

Ken M

I've seen lots of posts regarding Cakewalk hanging on "Creating UI". Thought I'd share what I found when it happened to me.

I installed the current version of Cakewalk on my desktop computer. Installation went smooth, but when I tried to open a new project (using the 4-Track.cwt template), Cakewalk would hang on "Creating UI". I did all the stuff people suggested in other posts: uninstall / reinstall, disable anti-virus, run as Admin, don't install add-ons, etc - none of those worked for me.

When it hung, I'd wait 10 or 15 seconds then terminate the app. One time though, I let it run while I was searching for more suggestions on the net. And eventually (after several minutes), the UI was created and Cakewalk came back to life.

I'm a programmer, so I decided to use Process Monitor to see what Cakewalk was doing when it hung. What I found was for some reason Cakewalk decided to get a list of the files on my Desktop and then opened each of the .zips (might have opened other file types, but it was the .zip files I noticed it opening). One of my .zips was a download of the Material Designs open source icons, which has something like 60,000 icons in it, and it looked like Cakewalk was checking out each icon in the file. Why it would do that is beyond me.

So I moved the Material Designs zip and another large zip file into a temp folder on my desktop, then relaunched Cakewalk. Tried to create a new project and *boom*, just like that the project was created and was ready to run. Same thing happened when opening an existing project: it would load immediately if the .zip file was not on my Desktop; would take forever if the .zip was on my Desktop.

I looked through the Preferences dialog in Advanced mode, looking for a path pointing to my Desktop but couldn't find one.