How to apply separate effects in parallel to the same track

nayrtrawe

Question

Hi folks. I am very new to Cakewalk and audio production in general so please bear with me. I am hoping someone can explain in layman's terms how to apply two separate sets of effect chains to the same track without any overlap between them. I basically want to process the same imported audio file but with different effects in parallel, if that makes sense. 

For the sake of context, I make experimental noise music using photographic raw data. I convert images to sound and then import that into the DAW to mangle it via effects. I am trying to do everything with one track as a sort of self-imposed restriction to keep things simple and focused. 

I have tried reading up on the subject but I can't seem to find this specific information, or maybe I simply don't understand what I am reading. Thanks in advance for any help you can provide. 

5 answers to this question

There's many ways you can do this, but this is how I'd do it (other than simply having 2 tracks with the same audio file):

1. Create two buses.  
2. Set the output of the track to "none"
3. Add two sends on the track, route one send to one of the new buses, and the other send to the other. Make sure the "Post" on each bus send is switched off.
4. Put your effects on the buses

[Edit] - actually, you could keep "Post" on... I guess it depends on whether you want to use the track's fader to control the level to the buses, or just the bus sends.

• Like 2

11 minutes ago, msmcleod said:

There's many ways you can do this, but this is how I'd do it (other than simply having 2 tracks with the same audio file):

1. Create two buses.  
2. Set the output of the track to "none"
3. Add two sends on the track, route one send to one of the new buses, and the other send to the other. Make sure the "Post" on each bus send is switched off.
4. Put your effects on the buses