Strange issue with speed/timing etc

SLCustomTrim

Hey Everyone,

Total newb here, so I have a few questions and weird anomalies .

I downloaded Cakewalk today after a few days of frustration with latency issues in Presonus Studio One V5. Plus, I can't use Eventide or Waves VST plug ins 

When I put a backing track on a new track, it's like 5-10 bpm slower than it actually is. The same thing happens when I'm laying down guitar tracks over it. It's like everything is at the right pitch, yet slow. I am trying all kinds of settings and haven't found the magic setting/button so to speak.

This is just for simplicity using a Positive Grid Spark 40 amp via ASIO USB direct into my laptop.

Everything is up to date, and it's not a computer issue ( Intel 8 core i7, 16 GB ram that runs complex video editing software like nothing)

Any suggestions or recommendations would be greatly appreciated. I'm about to loose it after 2 days of messing with every setting. 

Thanks in advance

Steve

Welcome to the forum.
The "5-10 bpm slower" problem is possibly a sample rate mismatch. Both the Spark and Cakewalk should be set to the same value.
Is the ASIO setting you're using a true ASIO driver for the amp, or an ASIO driver already on your computer? Or ASIO4All?

Hi Steve, not able to help, just posting because I've noticed a slight drag in temp when I have a full project with a lot of audio tracks and/or plugins. Not sure why, but the tempo seems to drag. I have yet to update to the most recent, so I will try that first.  Like you, the first thing I thought of was maybe I don't have enough PC power or RAM but other than running the minimum required 8GB RAM, my processor is 6 core, so the jury is still out on that for the time being. Not sure if it was a universal bug that got fixed with the latest update, or if it is just an isolated issue still.