Sound Stopped and nothing will fix it.

Hiemoustne

Question

Hi,

I'm new to this DAW and I have sound drop outs that i cant fix. 

I have put a few tracks down and mixed them nicely (Purely volume and EQ), and then Cakewalk stopped making sounds. Cant hear a thing, however the program seems to be running fine. Windows sounds works fine with everything, -  just not with Cakewalk anymore.

Things I have tried (might not use correct terminology);

1- Changed playback buffer size (to them all), (Was set at 256)

2- Changed Driver mode (to them all), (left on WASAPI, tried MME)

3-  Applied, saved, reloaded Cakewalk everytime,

4- Checked every forum on the internet (including Youtube),

5- Made sure windows and cake walk use same Sample rate,

6- Disconected all (besides main) devices in windows,

7- Probably other stuff I forgot to mention (but willing to try again),

Also, It was working fine, then just stopped (I presume with a drop out message), however at the time I did not know to look at the error number and look up the link to the documentaion - (I found that out while tring to fix the issue). I dont know how to find out what error number it was.

This issue IMHO is an error that should never happen on  audio software, Its like an error that stops the display on a graphic editor. There should be a failsafe since this error renders the software useless. Enough ranting from my frustration....

So does anyone have any ideas? or was my mum right in saying that I was unique to everyone else in the world?

4 answers to this question

Welcome to the forum. Lots of good help available here.

Are you having problems with only this one project you have been working on, or can you create a new project and play an audio clip or soft synth?