So I've had this Arturia Keylab Essential for 9 months now...

...and I feel that with every song I work on, I get better at playing on the keyboard. There were also times when I just fire up a standalone synth and play some the instruments for practice and to grind out some musical ideas. One of the things that really stood out to me is that prior to all this, I had absolutely no experience playing on keyboards, and yet playing it for the first time, it just felt like I had done this in a past life.

There's also the bittersweet memory that I flashbacked to of my abusive mother flat out saying no to helping to save up and helping to purchase a keyboard. I've always had a passion for music, and all this time I had been expressing it through manually entering notes on a sequencer, until now. It feels really good.

Does anyone here have had one of those moments when they held an instrument for the first time?

I had been playing guitar for about 4 years when I was at a high school dance (as a freshman). My friends band was playing. Their bass player could not make it that night (sick or something). So he asked me to play bass on "Sunshine of Your Love" which was relatively new song.

I was ecstatic to hold that bass or any bass for the first time. 

To this day I cannot recall what make it was.

That was when I made the decision to switch to bass. Got myself a cheap knock off bass first. Oh what joy equal to holding that bass at the dance.

Then I was fortunate enough to acquire a non-working "slightly" hot 1965ish Fender P-Bass for $15USD. I opened it up and opened up my cheapo bass and figured out the wiring (that was corroded and broken off at the terminations) and got that bad boy working. So not only was it my first pro bass but first time working on the guts of any guitar. I was in heaven.