Standalone Keyboards as MIDI controllers

Hi,

I am mainly a guitar player, but have dabbled with Keyboards over the years. I am also a relative Beginner to DAWs, although did use Cubase a few years ago, and no stranger to using Multitrack recording (I have an old Boss 8-Track that has seen better days). I was thinking of getting a MIDI controller, but I was wondering about buying a secondhand Standalone keyboard, specifically a Yamaha PSR275, 

I had something similar a few years ago, but despite being able to connect to a PC, I never explored the MIDI side of things properly, and just wondered whether I could successfully use this as a Controller ? I've downloaded the Manual for it, and as it uses the standard 5-pin (??) MIDI sockets, but Yamaha do (or did) have a suitable converter cable, and there appears to be no shortage of alternative cables.

You should be able to use a USB to MIDI adaptor to connect your 5-pijn din MIDI keyboard to your PC via USB

I use a USB to MIDI adapter in the other direction - I.E. I use Cakewalk by Bandlab to send MIDI data to an external 5-pin DIN MIDI device.  This has worked flawlessly for a many years now.

The one I use is a Roland UM-ONE mk2 USB MIDI Interface.

I have a PCR-800 controller and I am certain that, as a test at some stage, I have used the PCR-800's MIDI out ports rather than its USB and this worked fine in this configuration.   Of course, nowadays I just use the PCR-800's USB port.

Be aware that in the days BCbB (Before Cakewalk by Bandlab), Yamaha keyboards didn't work with MIDI-to-USB converters that weren't Yamaha.
Actually, that was much longer ago, back in the aughts, so maybe things have changed so that any converter will work.