Real-Time listening to guitar-effects

Hi, I am a newbie and just try to understand how to apply FX in a guitar track. I am not able to, lets say, apply distortion to a track and listen to the effect while recording. I can only apply the filter afterwards to the recorded track. Is that normal? Or ist there a way to monitor my playing and recording with the effect in Real-Time? Thanks for idiot-support but I'm trying for days now ;-(

Edited by Thees Farich

Thank you for your immediate response! That's what I did. But: In this Screenshot, you selected DELAY as FX. Would I hear the Delay while recording/playing "through" CAKEWALK? In my situation, I can only apply the (let's say in this case) DELAY afterwards on the already recorded Track. I wanted to hear the selected effect WHILE playing and recording. It is not the problem to hear nothing, get me right. It is the "problem" that I don't hear the chosen effect while playing. So, the "Input Echo" is the solution for that? Best Regards and again thank you for your help.

9 hours ago, Thees Farich said:

I wanted to hear the selected effect WHILE playing and recording. It is not the problem to hear nothing, get me right. It is the "problem" that I don't hear the chosen effect while playing. So, the "Input Echo" is the solution for that?

You can apply fx in real-time. You can be recording or just listening. I tend to practice guitar thru amp sims any more rather than amps. There can be any number of problems. Make sure you are not monitoring thru your audio IF - some audio IFs allow you monitor. Input echo must be enabled, the fx must be enabled, make sure the fx are not by passed.