Latency Struggles with MIDI Keyboard for a beginner Cakewalk user

Mark Liu

Question

As many you have probably experienced at some point, I'm having seemingly unexplainable latency from my MIDI keyboard :(

I'm new to music software, producing, etc. Recently purchased an Alesis MIDI keyboard thinking it would be fun to tinker with composing some orchestral tunes, so I Googled around for the best free DAW which pointed me in the direction of Cakewalk. But at the first interaction, just playing around with the basic piano, the latency issue came up and it is proving too complicated for me to get my head around.

I've tried what I think is all possible combinations of settings, using WASAPI or ASIO4ALL, at different settings for all the common tweaks, stuff like 44.1 or 48k, 16 or 24bit, things I don't actually understand but seem to make a difference with other people. No noticeable change, for the better or worse... What really confuses me is that others have proven that they can get essentially zero latency on far older computers with practically the same set up.

I'm using a mid tier Surface Pro (6 I think), and everything is updated. Any advice would be greatly appreciated! Was quite excited to begin my journey to learning about music producing, so it's frustrating to not even be able to make a start.

Thanks in advance!

6 answers to this question

1 hour ago, Mark Liu said:

just playing around with the basic piano

Which one: TTS-1, SI Electric Piano or the MS GS Wavetable Synth? If the latter, try one of the plug-ins? The MS GS Wavetable Synth is not a low latency device. In fact, it may be a good idea to disable it in preferences.

1 hour ago, Mark Liu said: