Volume limit? Help

Marcello

Question

Hi Im pretty new to cakewalk, when I record a guitar or whatever instrument there is a volume bar on the right side of the track. I can see that after recording in several point of the track the volume bar reaches the yellow and red top, like if it’s at its limit. I suppose it should not reach that level right? So should I lower the volume?

What is the best practise in terms of keeping the right volume? I notice that sometimes when it’s to high there is some scratchy noise.

consider I recorder the guitar with my external sound device where the output was set up at maximum, the gain at half. 

7 answers to this question

You should have your input volume set to a decent level "before" you actually Record the track. Just watch your meter while playing the part. The song doesn't even have to be playing to set your level.  If it's going too high (yellow) turn down the input gain on your interface or guitar. Red is always bad. Try not to get louder than -6 to -12 to start with. You can turn it up later if you need to. Once you're in the red and making noises you're screwed and should redo the track. There are fixes but it will cost you. The more tracks you add , the louder your song gets , so start in the middle, not too quiet , not too loud.  Good luck..  mark

Thank you! Input/gain level in the external audio device was set up at half, I set it there so that the red light there wouldn’t flash. But in any case maybe the output level from the guitar th3 plugin was too hig, I guess I will just turn it down from there or the volume of the track itself, now its over zero so I huess I can low it down at -3 or -6 until the volume level sont reach red

One more thing, even if I low down the single tracks not to reach the red in the volume bar, in the busses And the master volume it actually reaches the red. So should I also low down the buses volume and the master? If I do so the volume is very low though