MIDI/soft synth playback

Tim

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to Cakewalk (used to use Logic a few years ago)  and I'm having trouble getting some imported MIDI files to play through a soft synth.
I've followed the guidance on this page, but I don't seem to be getting anywhere.

I've imported the MIDI files, which have created 4 tracks for themselves. I've then created a soft synth/instrument track for the SI-String Section instrument. Cakewalk automatically routes the outputs of the MIDI tracks to this instrument, but when I press play, no sound. Curiously, if I open up SI-String Section, even clicking on the keyboard on the VST interface doesn't make a sound, whereas it works fine if I insert another one that doesn't have any MIDI routed through it.

I'm sure I'm missing something obvious here but I can't for the life of me figure it out.  Please help! Screenshot of track I/Os attached.

Annotation 2020-04-14 095306.png

Just to add to this, I found a very helpful guide further down the forum that suggested opening the MIDI files into Cakewalk rather than importing them. That opened up a new Cakewalk project and played them through TTS no problem. However, as soon as I insert SI-String Section and route the outputs to that instead of TTS... no sound. Very odd.

58 minutes ago, Kevin Perry said:

Silly question but have you loaded a program into SI Strings?

Thanks for responding! Silly questions are perfectly valid as this is all new to me; Logic used to do it automatically so I've never had to grapple with MIDI routings manually.

I've given it another go; SI String was set to the default program so I changed it to another program just in case that would make a difference. Still nothing!