Need some help getting started - apparently missing the obvious

Rich Webb

Question

Hello,

I am extremely new to cakewalk and audio in general.  I am an IT professional that was asked by my church to manage the sound/multimedia area.  We have a behringer x32 in which I have successfully set up to output it's channels to cakewalk and have successfully made a multi-track recording of our worship service.  We have keys, a flute, bass and some vocals.  

I made the recording on my laptop at the church and then took it home to try to edit it and improve the audio.  I have managed to set up the output to play through my headphones and now I'm trying to just figure out how to edit the song - I have gathered that it is oriented around making takes but I can't seem to figure out how to use a track or series of tracks as the input for the take.  It keeps wanting to record my microphone audio in the take.

What I'm trying to accomplish is to play the songs back adjusting instrument and vocal levels to make everything balanced and adding some fx to make it sound better.  I seem to be missing something obvious.  I watched a bunch of tutorials but seemingly key pieces of information are either omitted as being obvious or I'm just not following the workflow.

Anyone that could help would be greatly appreciated! Thank You in advance!

Rich

Edited by Rich Webb

8 answers to this question