Daw dunce

Terry Morgan

There's something basic I'm just not getting about Cakewalk by Bandlab. I've been recording on computer for 20 years or more. But I can't get started with CW.

I simply want to import a midi file I've done and assign soft synths and plug-ins to the tracks and play the song. I just can't figure out how to do it, Is there something about Cakewalk that's fundamentally different from other daw's?  Any advice would be deeply appreciated.

To create a new project from a MIDI file, open the file using File > Open from the main menu. If the MIDI output section in preferences has nothing enabled, CbB will automatically add TTS-1 assigning the appropriate instruments to the MIDI file.

It is possible to add a MIDI file to an existing MIDI track using File > Import > MIDI but import strips out the MIDI tempo data.

Unless you need to send MIDI to the soundcard, disable it. Even if you do use the MIDI output, for now it may be a good idea to temporary disable it and see how CbB sets up TTS-1.

Adding soft synths to a project may be done in a variety of ways. Different methods have different ways to add (or in this case not add) tracks to the project.

Several use the insert soft synth options dialog. This dialog has check boxes to control which track types are added for the synth.

The add track menu has its own option settings. Midway down the page is the To create Instrument tracks section.

Regardless, it is easy enough to point an existing MIDI track to a synth and delete the newly created track(s) using the MIDI track output drop down.

A complete synth routing includes at least one MIDI track and one audio track (or an instrument track which is a hybrid track consisting of a MIDI track and an audio track).